metadata

FAQ

FAQ, GENERAL
FAQ FOR CHILDREN
FAQ FOR ADULTS

FAQ, GENERAL

WHAT CONDITIONS CAN SPINECOR® BE PRESCRIBED FOR?

Although SpineCor® was originally created to treat adolescent idiopathic scoliosis (AIS), it has since been used for other spinal deformities such as adult scoliosis, certain types of neuromuscular scoliosis, kyphosis and spondylolisthesis.

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

  • Mobility is preserved
  • Effectiveness for correction or stabilization of curve progression
  • Pain reduction or elimination
  • Comfort, ease and discretion under clothes
  • Posture and body aesthetics improvement
  • Lasting results after treatment, especially if started early

Unlike rigid braces, which can cause muscular atrophy and therefore be harmful to a child’s normal development, the SpineCor® brace has no such undesirable side effects*, as it actually strengthens the muscles within the targeted area.

*At the beginning of the SpineCor® treatment, certain patients may feel mild discomfort as the body gets used to the brace. If the pain persists or gets worse, the patient should stop wearing the brace and consult his or her chiropractor or doctor immediately. The SpineCor® brace makes use of only elastic bands to achieve non-invasive treatment and is therefore very safe. In fact, it has the same hazard classification as a tooth brush (certified Class I by Health Canada since its creation).

HOW MUCH DOES THE SPINECOR® BRACE COST?

Installation costs CAN$4,000 and includes the brace itself, as well as exams and x-rays performed at the time of the first fitting, which takes approximately 3 hours. (Price is subject to change at any time.) 

The cost of progress follow-up after the fitting depends on the number of required treatment visits. As the number of visits varies depending on the age and condition of the patient, please refer to the FAQ FOR CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS or to the FAQ FOR ADULTS.

WILL MY INSURANCE PROVIDER COVER THE COST OF THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

It’s important to note that this brace is not covered by any Canadian public health insurance plan.

Most private insurance companies will reimburse between 80 and 100% of the brace’s cost. All require a prescription from a doctor stating that they recommend: “daily use of the SpineCor® brace for a minimum of 18 months.”

Insurance providers usually also require an explanatory note describing the nature of the brace, which will be provided to you upon request by our team.

The patient should make copies of all of documents for their records before filing a claim application.

WHAT IS THE SPINECOR® BRACE MADE OF? IS THERE A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE BRACE FOR CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS AND THE ONE FOR ADULTS?

The SpineCor® brace for children and adolescents is made up of a fully adjustable, malleable plastic pelvic base, a reinforced cotton bolero and corrective elastic bands.

In the adult brace, the adjustable base is replaced with reinforced fabric shorts, as there is no need to adjust it to accommodate patient growth.

The choice of using the adult or the adolescent style of brace is left to the patient’s discretion as both are available in all sizes.

Please note that the SpineCor® brace is latex-free.

IS THE SPINECOR® BRACE DIFFERENT DEPENDING ON THE PATIENT’S SEX?

No. The SpineCor® brace is unisex.

HOW DOES THE SPINECOR® BRACE WORK?

The SpineCor® brace uses elastic resistance to create a corrective movement of the spine and its supporting structures every time the patient moves. In the long term, this reprograms the neuromuscular system and, depending on the case, can correct the curvature, slow or stop its progression, and/or improve the patient’s overall posture. Note that the SpineCor® brace is extremely effective for relieving pain in both children and adults.

Can the SpineCor® brace be prescribed for an obese patient?

Yes. Unlike rigid braces, which have been proven ineffective in overweight patients, the SpineCor® brace allows for excellent results with larger people because the extra weight does not impede the dynamic action of the elastic bands17.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO PUT ON THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

With a bit of practice, it takes less than two minutes.

IS THE SPINECOR® BRACE PAINFUL TO WEAR?

No. One of its advantages is that it constitutes a non-invasive and painless treatment. Mild discomfort is possible at the start of the treatment, but the pain will subside as the body grows accustomed to the brace. In the long term, the SpineCor® brace should reduce or even eliminate any preexisting pain.

CAN I GO TO THE BATHROOM WITHOUT HAVING TO COMPLETELY REMOVE THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

Yes. There is an opening in the crotch for this purpose.

WHAT ARE THE MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS OF THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

The SpineCor® brace is machine washable provided it is placed in a laundry bag and washed using the delicate cycle. It should simply be hung to dry. When the brace is first fitted, detailed instructions are given to the patient along with an instructional brochure.

FAQ FAQ

FAQ FOR CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS

AT WHAT AGE CAN A CHILD START TO WEAR A SPINECOR® BRACE?

The SpineCor® dynamic brace can be prescribed to children aged 5 years and over. However, it has been used with younger patients.

Major limitations to use of the SpineCor® brace with young children usually stem from:

  • various component dimensions;
  • the child’s ability to put it on.

CAN A CHILD PUT THE SPINECOR® BRACE ON BY HIM- OR HERSELF?

Absolutely. All instructions necessary for putting on the SpineCor® brace are given to the patient and their family at the time the brace is first fitted. Once the brace is adjusted and the elastic bands numbered, it is very easy for the patient to quickly put the brace on themselves.

HOW MANY HOURS A DAY SHOULD THE SPINECOR® BRACE BE WORN?

The SpineCor® brace must be worn 20 hours per day. The four-hour break should be split into two or more periods corresponding to the least active times of the day. The brace MUST be worn overnight as the patient sleeps.

HOW LONG DOES THE SPINECOR® TREATMENT LAST?

Treatment duration depends on the patient‘s age at the time of the first fitting, but it is never under 18 months. Adolescents will wear the brace for an average of 24 months. Treatment duration is generally longer with younger children, as full skeletal maturation must be complete before the treatment can be ended.

HOW OFTEN WILL FOLLOW-UP VISITS OCCUR?

Usually, young patients will have their first follow-up visit after six weeks, and then every three to four months up until removal (end of treatment).

HOW MUCH DOES FOLLOW-UP COST?

Each follow-up exam costs $150. An additional $150 will be required for follow-up x-rays, which are generally taken every six months. (Cost of follow-up exams may change at any time and remain at the discretion of the chiropractor.) 

WHAT RESULTS CAN ONE EXPECT FROM THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

Treatment results are generally excellent!

In comparative studies carried out in 2007 on adolescent idiopathic scoliosis (AIS), based on the SRS’ (Scoliosis Research Society) new criteria for brace research, the following results were observed3:

  • The SpineCor® brace is 4 times more effective than a Boston-type rigid brace at stopping curvature progression.
  • The SpineCor® brace allows patients to avoid surgery in 76.5% of cases, compared to 40% for the Providence brace and 21% for the Boston brace.
  • According to a follow-up study performed two years after fitting, the SpineCor® brace is 95.7% effective in maintaining or improving curvature correction.
  • According to other long-term studies, 93% of cases show no Cobb angle increase 5 years after brace removal—in other words these cases demonstrate perfect integration of the neuromuscular reeducation.

Preliminary clinical trials on spinal conditions other than scoliosis have also produced promising results.

FAQ FAQ

FAQ FOR ADULTS

IS THE SPINECOR® BRACE SUITABLE FOR ADULTS SUFFERING FROM SCOLIOSIS OR OTHER SPINAL DEFORMITIES?

Most likely yes, depending on the treatment objectives. Although the brace was designed to treat adolescent idiopathic scoliosis (AIS), some doctors have noted its potential for postural rehabilitation and pain relief. It is now used to treat several other conditions.

While adult spinal deformities are permanent and cannot be corrected, it is possible to improve its postural alignment using the SpineCor® brace. The brace creates a corrective movement that offers dynamic support against the force of gravity and alleviates pain in the majority of patients. If worn regularly, the SpineCor® brace is likely have a lasting reinforcing effect on the supporting spinal structure. Plus, wearing the brace can slightly reduce the abnormal curvature in younger adults.

CAN ADULTS EXPECT PERMANENT CURVATURE CORRECTION BY WEARING THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

Adults react very differently to the treatment of scoliosis and other spinal deformities than adolescents due namely to the latter’s growth potential.

While it is possible to correct or stabilize curvature progression in a growing spinal column, the deformity is unfortunately permanent in adults. Although a few degrees of curvature reduction is possible in adult patients wearing the brace, it is unlikely that any such improvement will remain permanent if the patient stops wearing the brace altogether.

CAN WEARING THE SPINECOR® BRACE STOP THE PROGRESSION OF A SPINAL DEFORMITY IN AN ADULT?

Preliminary trials have shown that:

By reinforcing the spinal support structure, the SpineCor® brace can slow the deformity’s progression and in the best cases, even stop it.

Scientific research indicates that adult scoliosis can progress between 0.5° to close to 4° per year from a Cobb angle of 30°24. Within a long-term treatment perspective, the SpineCor® brace most definitely constitutes an effective tool for preventing aggravation of abnormal curvatures, allowing patients to go about their normal daily routine and thereby improving their quality of life.

HOW LONG DO PATIENTS HAVE TO WEAR THE SPINECOR® BRACE?

That depends on the severity of the condition and on the treatment objective established by the patient along with their doctor. We generally recommend an initial period of extended wear that can often be followed by a gradual reduction in the number of hours of wear while maintaining the benefits.

HOW OFTEN WILL FOLLOW-UP VISITS OCCUR?

Usually, patients have their first follow-up visit after six weeks, then every 4 to 6 months and then, once the condition has stabilized, once a year or so.

HOW MUCH DOES FOLLOW-UP COST?

Each follow-up exam costs $150. An additional $150 will be required for follow-up x-rays, which are usually taken every two years. (Cost of follow-up exams may change at any time and remain at the discretion of the chiropractor.) 

HAVE THERE BEEN STUDIES CONDUCTED PROVING THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE SPINECOR® DYNAMIC BRACE IN ADULTS?

Use of the brace in adults is relatively recent, however the results of preliminary studies have been extremely promising.

In one such preliminary study7, 30 adult patients (between the ages of 18 and 69) suffering from chronic pain due to scoliosis were fitted with the the SpineCor® brace according to protocol and monitored between 10 and 130 hours per week for a period of 18 to 26 months.

The results of the data collected show an average overall pain relief of 77%. In addition, this relief remained constant over time, with rates of 78%, 83% and 76% over subsequent visits. Finally, half of the patients reported that their symptoms had completely disappeared.

For more results, visit: SpineCor® Brace – Results

FAQ FAQ

metadata

FAQ

FAQ GÉNÉRALE
FAQ ENFANTS
FAQ ADULTES

FAQ GÉNÉRALE

Pour quelles affections SpineCor® peut-il être prescrit?

Bien que le SpineCor® ait été créé à l’origine pour le traitement de la scoliose idiopathique de l’adolescent (SIA), on l’a depuis utilisé pour d’autres difformités de la colonne vertébrale telles que la scoliose adulte, certains types de scolioses neuromusculaires, la cyphose ou le spondylolisthésis.

Quels sont les avantages de SpineCor®?

  • Mobilité préservée
  • Efficacité pour la correction ou la stabilisation de la progression
  • Douleur réduite et possiblement éliminée.
  • Aisance, confort et discrétion sous les vêtements
  • Posture et esthétique améliorées
  • Résultats durables après le traitement, surtout s'il débute tôt.

À l’opposé du corset rigide qui peut causer de l’atrophie musculaire et ainsi nuire au développement normal de l’enfant, SpineCor® ne provoque aucun effet secondaire indésirable* similaire car il renforce au contraire la musculature visée.

*Au début d’un traitement avec SpineCor®, il arrive que certains patients ressentent un léger inconfort, car le corps doit s’adapter. Si la douleur persiste ou s’aggrave avec le temps, le patient doit cesser de le porter et consulter son docteur en chiropratique ou son médecin. Comme SpineCor® constitue un traitement non invasif simplement constitué de bandes élastiques, son utilisation est très sécuritaire. Il est effectivement classé dans la même catégorie que les brosses à dents à cause de son degré de dangerosité presque nul (Classe I à Santé Canada où il a bien entendu été homologué depuis ses débuts).

Combien coûte SpineCor®?

L’installation comprend le dispositif thérapeutique lui-même ainsi que les examens et radiographies effectués au moment de la pose qui dure en tout environ 3 heures, pour un total de 4 000$ CA. (Le prix est sous réserve de modification.) 

Les coûts associés au suivi de progrès dépendent du nombre de visites requises par le traitement. Comme ce dernier varie en fonction de l’âge et de la condition du patient, veuillez vous référer à la FAQ Enfants et adolescent ou à la FAQ Adultes.

Mes assurances couvrent-elles le coût de SpineCor®?

Il est important de noter que ce corset n'est couvert par aucun régime d'assurance-maladie publique au Canada.

La plupart des compagnies d'assurance privées remboursent entre 80 et 100 % du coût de l'orthèse. Elles demandent toujours l'ordonnance du médecin qui doit y inscrire « port quotidien du corsetSpineCor® pendant 18 mois au minimum ».

La plupart du temps, les compagnies d’assurance exigent également un devis explicatif décrivant la nature du corset qui vous sera fourni sur demande par notre équipe.

Le patient doit s’assurer de faire une photocopie de tous ces documents avant d’envoyer sa demande de règlement afin de les conserver en archive.

De quoi est composé SpineCor®? Y a-t-il une différence entre le corset pour enfants et adolescents et celui développé pour les adultes?

SpineCor® pour enfants et adolescents se compose d'une base pelvienne en plastique malléable pleinement ajustable, d'un boléro en tissu renforcé et de bandes élastiques correctrices.

Dans la version adulte, la base ajustable est remplacée par un short moulant en tissu souple qui n’a pas besoin d’être ajusté à cause de la croissance.

Le choix de l’une ou l’autre des versions du corset demeure à la discrétion du patient car les deux sont disponibles dans toutes les tailles.

Il est à noter que SpineCor® ne contient aucun latex.

SpineCor® est-il différent selon le sexe du patient?

Non. SpineCor® est unisexe.

Comment SpineCor® fonctionne-t-il?

SpineCor® induit un mouvement correcteur à la colonne vertébrale et à l’ensemble de sa structure de soutien par l’action en résistance de ses bandes élastiques chaque fois que celui qui le porte bouge. À la longue, ceci résulte en une reprogrammation neuromusculaire qui permet, selon le cas, soit la correction d’une courbure, soit le ralentissement ou l’arrêt de la progression d’une courbure, ou soit l’amélioration de la posture globale du patient. Il est à noter que SpineCor® est extrêmement efficace pour le soulagement de la douleur tant chez les enfants que chez les adultes.

SpineCor® peut-il être prescrit à un patient obèse?

Oui. Contrairement aux corsets rigides dont l'inefficacité chez les obèses a été démontrée, SpineCor® permet d'obtenir d'excellents résultats chez cette population parce que le surplus de poids n'empêche en rien l'action dynamique des bandes élastiques17.

Combien de temps faut-il pour enfiler SpineCor®?

Après s'y être exercé à quelques répétitions, il en faut moins de deux minutes.

Le port de SpineCor® est-il douloureux?

Non. L'un de ses avantages est justement qu'il consiste en un traitement non invasif et sans douleur. Il est possible qu'un léger inconfort soit ressenti au début du traitement, mais ce dernier disparaît progressivement à mesure que le corps s'habitue. Au final, SpineCor® devrait atténuer ou même éliminer les douleurs, si elles étaient présentes avant le traitement.

SpineCor® permet-il d’aller aux toilettes sans avoir à le retirer complètement?

Oui. Une ouverture au niveau du périnée est prévue à cet effet.

En quoi consiste l’entretien de SpineCor®?

SpineCor® est lavable à la machine au cycle délicat, dans un sac pour la lessive. Le séchage se fait à l'air libre. Lors de l’installation initiale, des instructions détaillées sont données au patient et une brochure contenant les consignes pertinentes lui est également remise.

FAQ FAQ

FAQ ENFANTS ET ADOLESCENTS

À partir de quel âge un enfant peut-il porter SpineCor®?

SpineCor® peut être prescrit à un enfant à partir de 5 ans. Cependant, il a déjà été utilisé sur des patients plus jeunes.

Les principales limitations à l'usage de SpineCor® par de jeunes enfants proviennent le plus souvent de :

  • la dimension de ses composants;
  • la capacité de l'enfant à l'enfiler.

L’enfant peut-il mettre lui-même son SpineCor®?

Sans problème. Lors de la séance d'installation de SpineCor®, toutes les instructions pour le revêtir sont données au patient et à sa famille. Une fois l’orthèse ajustée et les bandes élastiques numérotées, il est très facile pour le patient de l’enfiler rapidement.

Combien d’heures par jour SpineCor® doit-il être porté?

SpineCor® doit être porté 20 heures par jour. La pause de 4 heures devrait être répartie en deux périodes ou plus correspondant aux moments les moins actifs de la journée. Il DOIT être porté durant les heures de sommeil.

Combien de temps dure le traitement SpineCor®?

La durée du traitement dépendra de l'âge du patient à son début mais elle n'est jamais inférieure à 18 mois. Chez les adolescents, le port de SpineCor® dure en moyenne 24 mois. Chez les enfants plus jeunes, le traitement sera généralement plus long car on doit attendre la maturation squelettique complète avant d’autoriser la fin du traitement.

Quelle est la fréquence des visites de contrôle ?

Habituellement, les jeunes patients sont revus pour la première fois après six semaines, puis tous les trois ou quatre mois jusqu'au sevrage (fin du traitement).

Combien peut coûter le suivi de progrès?

Chaque examen de suivi coûte 150$. Un montant de 150$ supplémentaire doit être ajouté pour les radiographies de contrôle qui sont généralement prises aux six mois. (Les prix des examens de suivi sont sous réserve de modification.) 

À quels résultats peut-on s’attendre avec SpineCor®?

En général, les résultats sont excellents!

Dans le cas de la scoliose idiopathique de l'adolescent (SIA), des recherches comparatives menées en 2007, basées sur les nouveaux critères d'inclusion du SRS (Scoliosis Research Society) concernant les études sur les corsets, ont démontré les faits suivants36:

  • SpineCor® est 4 fois plus efficace qu'un corset rigide de type Boston pour ce qui est de freiner la progression de la courbure.
  • SpineCor® permet d'éviter la chirurgie dans 76,5% des cas, comparativement à 40% pour le corset Providence et 21% pour le Boston.
  • Selon une étude de suivi après deux ans, le corset SpineCor® est efficace à 95,7% pour le maintien ou l'amélioration des corrections de la courbure.
  • Selon d'autres études à long terme, 93% des cas ne connaissent pas d'augmentation de leur angle de Cobb 5 ans après le sevrage, ce qui signifie pour ce nombre une parfaite intégration de leur rééducation neuromusculaire.

Dans le cas des autres affections que la scoliose, les études cliniques préliminaires permettent d'espérer des résultats tout aussi concluants.

FAQ FAQ

FAQ ADULTES

SpineCor® convient-il à un adulte souffrant de scoliose ou d’une autre difformité de la colonne vertébrale?

Il y a de bonnes chances que oui, selon l'objectif visé. Même si ce corset a d'abord été conçu pour le traitement de la scoliose idiopathique de l'adolescent (SIA), certains docteurs ont constaté son  potentiel pour la réhabilitation posturale et pour le soulagement de la douleur. Il est maintenant employé pour de nombreuses autres affections.

Même si la colonne vertébrale de l'adulte souffrant de difformité spinale est déformée de façon permanente, il est possible avec SpineCor® d'en améliorer l'alignement postural. Comme il offre un soutien dynamique contre la gravité par le mouvement correcteur, il procure également un soulagement de la douleur chez la plupart des patients. En renforçant la structure de soutien de la colonne vertébrale, SpineCor® est susceptible d'avoir un effet durable, à condition qu'il soit porté de façon assidue. En prime, la courbure anormale peut diminuer quelque peu chez certains jeunes adultes pendant le port de l'orthèse.

L’adulte peut-il s’attendre à une correction permanente de sa courbure suite à l’installation d’un SpineCor®?

La scoliose et  les déformations de la colonne vertébrale diffèrent grandement chez l'adolescent et chez l'adulte, le principal facteur en cause étant le potentiel de croissance.

Tandis qu'on peut envisager une correction ou une stabilisation de la progression de la courbure d'une colonne vertébrale en croissance, les déviations demeurent malheureusement permanentes chez l'adulte. Bien que l'on puisse parfois noter quelques degrés de réduction de la courbure d'un adulte pendant le port de SpineCor®, il est improbable que cette amélioration soit durable si le patient cesse complètement de le porter.

SpineCor® peut-il stopper la progression d’une difformité spinale chez l’adulte?

Des études préliminaires permettent d'affirmer ce qui suit.

Par son action de renforcement de la structure de soutien de la colonne vertébrale, SpineCor® peut ralentir la progression de la difformité et, dans les meilleurs cas, la stopper.

La recherche scientifique indique que la scoliose adulte peut progresser de  0,5° à près de 4° par  année à partir de 30° d'angle de Cobb24. Dans une perspective de traitement à long terme, SpineCor® peut certainement constituer un outil efficace pour prévenir l'aggravation de la courbure anormale tout en permettant aux patients de vaquer à leurs occupations de la vie de tous les jours, bénéficiant ainsi d'une meilleure qualité de vie.

Pendant combien de temps les patients doivent-ils porter SpineCor®?

Cela dépendra de la sévérité du problème et de l'objectif du traitement qui seront fixés par vous-même avec votre docteur. On recommande généralement une période initiale où l'orthèse sera portée de façon plus soutenue, puis il sera souvent possible de réduire le nombre d’heures de port par la suite tout en maintenant les bénéfices.

Quelle est la fréquence des visites de contrôle?

Habituellement, les patients sont revus pour la première fois après 6 semaines, puis après 4 à 6 mois, et enfin, une fois la condition stabilisée, environ tous les ans.

Combien peut coûter le suivi de progrès?

Chaque examen de suivi coûte 150$. Un montant de 150$ supplémentaire doit être ajouté pour les radiographies de contrôle qui sont généralement prises tous les deux ans. (Les prix des examens de suivi sont sous réserve de modification.) 

Disposez-vous de recherches sur l’efficacité du corset dynamique SpineCor® chez l’adulte?

L'utilisation du corset chez l'adulte est relativement nouvelle, mais les résultats des études préliminaires sont extrêmement prometteurs.

En effet, une étude préliminaire7 a été réalisée sur 30 patients adultes (de 18 à 69 ans) atteints de scoliose et souffrant de douleur chronique. On leur a installé un SpineCor®selon le protocole et on a recueilli des données sur des périodes allant de 18 à 26 mois alors que les patients portaient leur corset entre 10 et 130 heures par semaine.

Les résultats ont démontré une amélioration globale de la douleur de l'ordre de 77%. De plus, cette dernière est demeurée stable avec le temps, avec des taux de 78%, 83% et 76% lors de visites subséquentes. Finalement, la moitié des patients ont rapporté la disparition complète de leurs symptômes.

Pour d’autres résultats de recherche, visitez la section : Corset SpineCor® - Résultats

FAQ FAQ